About the ECSW

About the ECSW

The East Central Synod of WI of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) is made up of 126 congregations and 97,000 baptized members serving in East Central Wisconsin. [What is a synod?]


The Synod is led by Bishop who oversees the ministry of the pastors and the congregations. The Bishop carries out the work of the Synod along with the Synod Council, Synod staff and the committees of the Synod. Together they seek to help congregations discern what God is up to in their context and communities.


The Synod is divided into six conferences: Appleton, Green Bay, Oshkosh, Shawano, Tomorrow River, and Wisconsin River Valley. These conferences are made up of 20 Counties in East Central Wisconsin which are: Door, Kewaunee, Brown, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, Calumet, Winnebago, Outagamie, Shawano, Oconto, Menominee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Wood, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, Marquette and Green Lake. [view map of counties]


50% of our annual budget is given to support mission around the world through the work of the ELCA. An additional 8% of our budget fuels mission partnerships such as seminaries, Wisconsin Council of Churches, and Young Adult Ministries. The ECSW is one of the top contributors among all the synods to the World Hunger program of the ELCA. Our synod is diverse, rich in tradition, and growing in faith. Our people give boldly to help those who are in need across the world.