The East Central Synod of WI of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) is made up of 126 congregations and 97,000 baptized members serving in East Central Wisconsin. [What is a synod?]

The Synod is led by Bishop who oversees the ministry of the pastors and the congregations. The Bishop carries out the work of the Synod along with the Associate, Rev Joy Mortensen-Wiebe, Synod Council, Synod staff and the committees of the Synod. Together they seek to help congregations discern what God is up to in their context and communities.

The Synod is divided into six conferences: Appleton, Green Bay, Oshkosh, Shawano, Tomorrow River, and Wisconsin River Valley. These conferences are made up of 20 Counties in East Central Wisconsin which are: Door, Kewaunee, Brown, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, Calumet, Winnebago, Outagamie, Shawano, Oconto, Menominee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Wood, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, Marquette and Green Lake. [view map of counties]

55% of our annual budget is given to support mission around the world through the work of the ELCA. An additional 8% of our budget fuels mission partnerships such as seminaries, Wisconsin Council of Churches, and Young Adult Ministries. The ECSW is one of the top contributors among all the synods to the World Hunger program of the ELCA. Our synod is diverse, rich in tradition, and growing in faith. Our people give boldly to help those who are in need across the world.


Map & Directions to the Synod:

ECSW Synod Staff & Officers

Interim Bishop Gerald Mansholt Gerald Mansholt
Interim Bishop
(920) 734-5381

Oversees the Ministry of the East Central Synod of WI, the Congregations and Rostered Leaders.

Rev. Joy Mortensen-Wiebe (Associate with the Bishop) Rev. Joy Mortensen-Wiebe
Associate with the Bishop/ Director for Evangelical Mission
(920) 734-5381

Oversees the call process along with the Bishop; administers the "Listening Post" Program for congregations; oversees the Candidacy process; oversees Interim Ministry; coordinates the Synod Assembly; and directs Mission Church Development for the ECSW.

Jill Roznowski (Administrative Assistant) Jill Roznowski
Synodical Mission Administrator
(920) 734-5381

Assists rostered staff and congregations with the call process; assists with the Bishop's calendar; and Maintains mobility files.

Diane Clark (Bookkeeper) Diane Clark
Mission Investment Director
(920) 734-5381

Maintains contribution records for the congregations; Handles accounts payable; Assists congregational Treasurers with questions; Handles financial details for the Synod.

Darlene Kalfahs (Resource Director) Darlene Kalfahs
Congregational Resource Director
(920) 734-3797

Manages the Resource Center; Assists Synod members in determining their resource needs; facilitates and organizes workshops and Maintains resource materials to meet the needs of congregations.

Karen Peckham Karen Peckham
Discipleship Support Staff
(920) 734-3797

Oversees and works with the Synodical Candidacy Process; Assists the Congregational Resource Director; helps congregations and members find resources to meet their needs.